## NATIONAL ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT PRESS RELEASE

Islamabad, November 19<sup>th</sup> 2020; 17<sup>th</sup> meeting of the <u>Standing Committee on</u> Climate Change has been held today under the <u>Chairpersonship of Ms. Munaza Hassan</u>, MNA.

2. The meeting started with the recitation from the Holy Quran. The Committee asked why the Minister and Secretary of Climate Change could not attend the meeting personally it sowed displeasure and directed that next time Minister and Secretary must be attended the meeting of Standing Committee in person. Then, the Committee unanimously confirms the minutes of its previous meeting held on 10<sup>th</sup> September, 2020.

3. Thereafter, the Committee asked the compliance status of its previous recommendations. The Committee recommends that forest rules of Business in Punjab should be reviewed and forest department, Punjab must be consider fruit trees plantation instead of fuel wooden trees. The Committee recommends that all provinces of Pakistan discourage the plantation of Eucalyptus trees because it consumes extra water and already we are coming cross shortage of water in our country. Olive trees should be promoted on war footage.

4. Then, the representative from Ministry of Petroleum started briefing on the upgradation and shifting of fuel specification to Euro-V technology. The Committee did not satisfy with the given briefing because the representative could not properly answer the questions raised by the Committee Members. Further, the Committee showed its displeasure for not attending the meeting by Chairman, OGRA. However, in last few meetings the Committee directed that Chairman, OGRA attend the next Committee meeting by himself but he did not. Further, Mr. Joudat Ayaz, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Climate Change who was acting as representative from the Ministry of Climate Change in absence of Minister and Secretary, Ministry of Climate also left the Committee room during the meeting. The Committee also showed its displeasure that why the Additional Secretary, Climate Change left the meeting without the permission of the Chair. The Committee directed the concerned Authorities to take grim action against the Additional Secretary, Ministry of Climate Change for his irresponsible behavior and report shall submit to the Committee.

4. The Hon. MNAs/Members Dr. Haider Ali Khan, Mr. Tahir Sadiq, Rai Muhammad Murtaza Iqbal, Ms. Naureen Farooq Ibrahim Khan, Engr. Sabir Hussain Kaim Khani, Ms. Tahira Aurangzab, Ms. Shaista Pervaiz, Ms. Zahra Wadood Fatemi, Ms. Romina Khursheed Alam, Syed Mustafa Mahmud, Mr. Zulfiqar Bachani and Ms. Shahida Rehmani besides the Senior Officers from the Ministry with their staff attended the meeting.

Moazzam Ali Kalru) D.S/Secretary Committee